Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

A Few Thanksgiving Thoughts

Thanksgiving is not just a holiday, it is a good practice that all Christians should be regularly engaged in doing. We should be thankful because we know that all we have comes from God. From the smallest gift to the biggest blessing we have our heavenly Father to thank. On this day of Thanksgiving I want to give thanks for certain things in my life, but more importantly I want to rededicate myself to the practice of living a life of thanksgiving.

I am thankful for my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and I am thankful for God the Father and the Holy Spirit. I am thankful for my wife and my son who bring me so much joy. I am thankful for all my family. I am thankful for wonderful grandparents who taught me so much and continue to guide and nurture me even though some of them have gone on to their heavenly reward. I am thankful for parents who loved me and made sacrifices on my behalf. I am thankful for a brother who is the best friend a guy could have. I am thankful to be a part of a loving church family. I am thankful for their kindness, generosity, and love for the Lord. I am thankful for the teachers who have taught me over the years. I am thankful for men and women of the faith whom I never knew, but continue to teach me through the writings they left behind. I am thankful for friends and mentors who have encouraged me and been there for me. I am thankful for the blessings of life. I am thankful that I have always had plenty to eat. I am thankful for the good men and women who dedicate their lives to raising food. This is a noble work that often gets overlooked. I am thankful that I am not in need, and I am mindful of those who are. I am thankful for these things and many more. May I never take these things for granted, and may I always strive to have a spirit of thankfulness.

On this day of Thanksgiving here are a few things from some wise men to reflect upon.

“We pray for the big things and forget to give thanks for the ordinary, small (and yet really not small) gifts.” Dietrich Bonhoeffer

“Thanksgiving is a way of life, not a mere holiday.” Miroslav Volf

The following is a prayer for Thanksgiving adapted from Psalm 107 and taken from Psalms for Praying By Nan C. Merrill.

We give thanks to You,
who are the source of Love;
whose Light shines forth
throughout the universe!
Come, awaken our hearts that
we might do your Work;
For, without You, we can do nothing;
’tis your Love that loves
through us.

No Responses to “A Few Thanksgiving Thoughts”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

