Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Father Knows Best

I hate getting shots.  Last year, I went to India and the only thing that caused me some hesitation was all the shots I would have to receive.  Although I cannot stand to get a shot, it bothers me more when my son has to get one.  I don’t like the thought of sticking an innocent, trusting child with a needle, but I understand it is necessary.  The shots he receives are for his own good.  It is better for him to receive a little discomfort now, than to be stricken with an awful disease in the future.  Even though it still disturbs me every time my son gets a shot, I continue to take him to the doctor, because I know it is for the best.

I believe this is how God feels when He sees one of His children experiencing the trials of this life.  I believe it pains Him to see us suffer, but He does not intervene because He knows these experiences are necessary.  During these times, we may question God, because we do not understand what is happening.  We may feel the same way my son does when he receives a shot.  He looks up at me with sad eyes, wondering why I would let someone do this to him. He doesn’t understand I am looking out for him.  I have his best interest in mind when I take him to the doctor.  God, in the same way, looks after His children.  He allows us to experience the suffering and affliction in this world, because He knows it is preparing us for the world to come.  Although we do not always understand what is taking place, we can trust in the fact that God has our best interest at heart.

“For this slight momentary affliction is preparing us for an eternal weight of glory beyond all measure.” (2 Cor. 4:17)

One Response to “Father Knows Best”

  1. I find it very touching and heartfelt the way you compare your everyday experiences to living a christian life. You are so blessed with a way with words. I love to read your writings!


Leave a Reply

