Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Souveneirs of Solitude By Brennan Manning

Souveneirs of Solitude is a book of devotional thoughts by Brennan Manning, author of the The Ragamuffin Gospel.  I must admit as a reviewer it was somewhat difficult to speed through this book.  It wasn’t that it was difficult to read or that it was theologically demanding.  Manning has provided some good devotional thoughts, but I felt as though there was no order to them.  It would be a nice book to pick up from time to time and reflect on, instead of trying to digest it in the span of a few days. 

Each chapter contains one devotional thought and a prayer.  The devotional subjects vary from chapter to chapter.  One moment you are reading about the Eucharist and the next you are reading about Christmas.  I found most of the devotionals to be beneficial, but not connected in any way.  I enjoyed the prayers at the end of each chapter.  In my life I have known people who are good at praying.  They just seem to be able to talk to God better than others.  I believe we can learn some things from these people.  Manning is an individual who is very much at ease when he talks to God.  It is something that probably comes naturally to him.  His prayers are a blessing to those who read them.  Manning’s book is not for everyone, but if you are looking for a devotional book to keep around the house and reflect on at times it may be just what you are looking for.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Navpress as part of their book review program for bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

No Responses to “Souveneirs of Solitude By Brennan Manning”

Leave a Reply

