Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Plan B By Pete Wilson

Plan B strives to tackle a difficult theological subject. In his book Pete Wilson tries to explain the tough situations we face in our life. What do I do when the doctors give me bad news? What does it mean when I lose my job? What does it say about me when I am overlooked? Life does not always work out the way we planned it, and this is what Plan B tries to help with.

I must commend the author for setting out to tackle such a difficult subject. As a minister these questions and situations are some of the toughest you will face. I think there is a need for books like this, but sadly I think this one fails in several regards. First, I felt as though the author was talking down to me. He would take well known Bible stories and throw in a few modern references in order to try and get the point across. I thought this was unnecessary most of the time. Second, I thought the book was shallow. It might help some people, but I think there will be several people who read this book and then want to know more. I have read several books on this subject and the ones I find most helpful are the ones whose authors have experienced personal tragedy in their own lives.

Plan B is not all together bad. The author does have some good things to say and I think it will help some people, but it is not for everyone. I believe young adults and mature teenagers will benefit from it more than others. If you are looking for a beginning book on suffering and tragedy this one may help, but if you are wanting real answers for life’s hard questions I would reccomend you look elsewhere.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No Responses to “Plan B By Pete Wilson”

Leave a Reply

