Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

The Karate Kid

I cannot tell you how many times I watched The Karate Kid growing up.  It was one of my favorites along with Star Wars, The Goonies, and Indiana Jones, so you can imagine I was a little leery when I found out they were remaking it.  All and all I can say that the new Karate Kid is a good movie, but the best part was going with three young boys who had never seen the original.  I got to see them experience what I did over 20 years ago.  For me, this was more enjoyable than the movie itself.

The story is pretty much the same as the original, but the setting is now China, which makes for some great scenery.  Jackie Chan is excellent in the role of Mr. Han or Miyagi for us old timers (The character names are all changed).  I am not a Jackie Chan fan, but he excels in this role.  He is not his usual goofy self, and so he is able to show off his acting chops.  Jaden Smith does a good job as the karate kid, but I found it a little hard to believe during the tournament at the end.  I just didn’t buy the injuries as I did in the original and Jaden Smith is so much smaller than the other boys it is hard to believe he would actually win the tournament.  Maybe you need to be a certain age to believe, and that is possibly why I still like Ralph Macchio better in the main role.

The Karate Kid is a good story with several morals for kids.  It teaches that one should only use violence when your back is against the wall.  Bullies are portrayed in a negative light, but the real villain of the film is the bullies’ teacher.  The bullies are not evil, they have simply been led astray.  Perhaps the main thing I came away with, when I first watched the original and again when I watched this one, was the need for discipline.  The biggest part of both these movies is the training, and before one can even begin training they need to learn discipline.  If this is what kids take away from this movie, then it is a good thing and it accomplishes more than most movies that are produced today.  If you want to be good at something you need to be disciplined.  This especially applies to Christianity.  Of course there are no perfect Christians (This is why we need the blood of Jesus in the first place), but we should want to be the best Christians we can be.  The Karate Kid won the tournament because he was disciplined.  If we want to win in life we might want to try the same thing.

No Responses to “The Karate Kid”

Leave a Reply

