Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Saint Francis

Saint Francis by Robert West is a great short non-technical biography of this famous saint.  This is the second book I have read in the Christian Encounter Series and I have enjoyed both.  This series of books published by Thomas Nelson is an excellent introduction to people you may not be familiar with.  They can also serve as a good refresher to something you may have learned in high school or college.  I would highly recommend this series to any adult or teenager.

I would especially recommend this biography on Saint Francis.  I believe many people in America, myself included, have no idea what it means to sacrifice.  We are the wealthiest nation in the world and we live a much better life compared to most people.  Not only do we enjoy many luxuries that others do not, but we feel as though we are entitled to them.  It would be good for us all to read a biography such as this one to be reminded that temporal things are not the most important things in this life.

When I opened this book I noticed that it was dedicated to Earl West.  Not many people will recognize that name.  He was a famous historian among Churches of Christ.  I googled Robert West to see if I could verify that this was the same Earl West I had in mind.  I discovered Robert West was a professor at Harding University, a Church of Christ University, so I assume this is the same Earl West.  Whether or not Robert West is related to this semi-famous historian he does an outstanding job telling the story of Saint Francis.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

No Responses to “Saint Francis”

Leave a Reply

