Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

The Trials We Face

One of the hardest things to do as a parent is to step back, and watch your child struggle with something you could help them do so easily. Recently, my wife and I have been teaching our son, Jackson, to dress and undress himself. It’s hard to watch him struggle with a shirt or his shoes. It’s hard to see him get frustrated, knowing that I could step in and help him accomplish his task in a matter of seconds. At the same time, I know it is necessary for him to struggle in order for him to advance in his development. If he never struggles and learns, then he will remain like a child. I step back because I love him, and I’m always right there watching just in case he needs me.

In life, sometimes God steps back and allows us to struggle for the same reasons. Trials are necessary. They have the potential of making us a better person. In James 1:2-3, the brother of Jesus says, “whenever you face trials of any kind, consider it nothing but joy, because you know that the testing of your faith produces endurance.” Here are a few things we need to understand when we face trials in our life.

God loves us – When we hit a rough patch, it does not mean God is punishing us, or that He does not love us.  He’s there in the midst of our trial, rooting us on. He wants to see us succeed. He wants to see us mature and grow as a Christian. God may step back and allow us to struggle, but He will never step away. He’s always there in case we need Him.

Trials are for our own good – I allow Jackson to struggle with certain things because I know it is for his benefit. I do it because I love him, and I want to see him grow up to be a good Christian man. It’s not easy to step back and watch him struggle, but I understand it is a teaching moment. The purpose of trials is to bring about growth and development. This is why James says to approach our trials with joy.

Our attitude is everything – God loves us, and trials are for our benefit, but this does not mean we can’t get stuck in the middle of one. If we approach the trials of life with the wrong attitude, then they could end up bringing us down. Sometimes Jackson will get frustrated putting on his clothes. He will throw a fit and essentially give up, because he thinks he cannot do it. When this happens, I try and calm him down, and then I tell him he can do it. Usually he will try again and get it the second or third time. When we face trials in our life, we can scream and holler and think this is the end, or we can listen to our Father who is softly whispering, “Everything is ok.  You’re going to make it.  I believe in you.”

4 Responses to “The Trials We Face”

  1. Well said. As father to four and now grandfather to seven, I understand it even better; treasure these moments.

  2. “God loves us, and trials are for our benefit, but this does not mean we can’t get stuck in the middle of one.”

    I like this. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

