Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

What I’ve Learned from Three Mothers

Today is a special day. It is a day when we honor our mothers. We have a tendency to take holidays lightly in our culture. We commercialize Christmas and Easter. We think of holidays more as a day off, instead of contemplating the deeper meaning or tradition behind them. There is a temptation to do this with Mother’s day, but I hope that we would resist and spend time honoring the women that have richly blessed our lives. I am the man I am today because of three mothers who have influenced me over the years. Here are a few things I have learned from them.

Wisdom – My Christian education began when I was a small child sitting in my grandmother’s lap. She would sing to me all the time. She taught me songs based on great Bible stories and filled with marvelous characters. She taught me what was important by introducing me to ancient stories that always amazed. Where would I be without the stories my grandmother used to tell? I am afraid to even contemplate such a question. There are many things you can do to prepare a child for adulthood, but perhaps the most important is the sharing of stories through song and storytelling. I will always be indebted to my grandmother for helping to mold and shape me into the man I am today.

Love and Sacrifice – I don’t remember much before the 3rd grade. That was the year my parents divorced. I remember a few things, but most of my childhood memories are from later on. My mother was a single parent trying to raise two ornery boys the best she could. She was not perfect, but we were always loved. Love was abundant in our household. We may have not had as much as the other kids, but we were blessed. Now that I am a parent I realize how much my mother sacrificed. I realize how hard she worked just to provide for my brother and me. When I get frustrated as a parent I think of my mother. I am a better person and parent today because of her.

Grace – I love my wife for many reasons, but one of the things that really attracted me to her was her sense of grace. I tend to hold a grudge. When I am offended or wronged it’s hard for me to forget. I am sometimes cynical and calloused towards the world. My wife is none of these things. She is full of grace and forgiveness. She lifts me up when I am filling down. She forgives my many faults. She sees the beauty and joy in the world that I sometimes miss. She is the perfect mother to our son. Each day I spend with her I am continually reminded of how blessed I am.

No language can express the power, and beauty, and heroism, and majesty of a mother’s love.  It shrinks not where man cowers, and grows stronger where man faints, and over wastes of worldly fortunes sends the radiance of its quenchless fidelity like a star.”  Edwin Hubbell Chapin

No Responses to “What I’ve Learned from Three Mothers”

Leave a Reply

