Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Summer

Every summer I hope to blog more, but it never works out that way. It has been more than two weeks since I have posted anything. One week I was at church camp and disconnected from the world. The next week I was trying to catch up on everything because I had spent a week away from the office. This week is also an unusual week because I am preparing to be gone next week. On Friday my wife and I will leave for Nashville. This will be our second year to attend Summer Celebration at Lipscomb University. We are looking forward to several days of wonderful worship and engaging Bible lectures. We will also be taking advantage of the great city of Nashville. We have tickets to the Grand Ole Opry one night, and we are mapping out all the restaurants we want to try. With all that being said I cannot promise a steady stream of blog posts in the coming weeks, but I will try my best.

Please check out my list of blogs I read. I am updating that list and adding a few more. Here are a few you might want to check out.

My wife started a blog over a year ago, but she took a hiatus from blogging for awhile. She is now back at it and has several good posts up. Check out her blog here: Just Thinking

A good friend of mine who preaches for the Newalla Church of Christ in Newalla, OK recently began a blog. Please check out David Brassfield’s blog Live Long and Pray

I am blessed to be a part of a mentor group led by Jim Martin who is the minister of the Crestview Church of Christ in Waco, TX. Jim always has lots of great things on his blog, but it is especially helpful to anyone in ministry. Check out his blog here: A Place For The God Hungry

I hope you will take some time to visit the blogs above. Although I do not post as much as I would like on my blog during the summer, I somehow find the time to catch up on my reading. The summer can be a busy time with vacations and projects around the house, but I hope you will commit to becoming a better Christian, spouse, parent, etc. this summer. Choose a good book to read on spirituality. Spend some extra time in God’s word. Take some time and focus on your spouse and family. Summers are fun, but make this one different. Commit to certain activities that will improve yourself and your relationships. At the end of the summer make sure you have done more than just take a vacation or get a few projects done. I hope at the end of the summer you can look back and say that you are a better person. This is my goal and I hope you will make it yours also. This summer can be the most meaningful summer you have had in long time if you set the right goals and make some good choices.

No Responses to “Summer”

Leave a Reply

