Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

I’m Amazed

I’m amazed by all kinds of things.  I’ve seen many changes in my short lifetime.  I’ve seen things created that I didn’t think possible.  As a child I was amazed by a large computer that was not color and only performed the simplest of tasks, but now I carry a much superior computer in my pocket everywhere I go.  Growing up I had a pen-pal that I used to write letters to.  I would write a letter and have to wait a week or two before I received one back.  Now everyone is connected.  If you want to have a pen-pal halfway across the world you can get on the internet and have a conversation with them face to face.  My first video game console was an Atari.  The controller had one joystick and one orange button.  I played games like Pac-man and Donkey Kong.  They were simple games with limited graphics.  Now they have video games in 3D that detect your motions.  I look at all these things and I’m amazed.

I’m amazed, but then I think to myself, “Why am I amazed at this?  Is my scope of vision not broad enough?”  If I were to step back and look at everything, then I would not be as amazed by computers that fit in my pocket or video games in 3D.  What is really amazing is not the things that were invented in the last year, but the things that have been here for thousands of years.  The advancements being made in computers are amazing, but they are not as amazing as the human brain.  I was amazed when they invented a portable computer, but God has already given every human being a portable computer in their head.  It’s a computer so great that the best scientists and engineers have been unable to replicate it.  Texas in July can be brutal, but thankfully we have made some amazing advancements in air conditioning.  100 years ago it was unimaginable that you could push a button and your home would be whatever temperature you wanted it to be.  This is amazing, but just this week I walked out into the hot and humid Texas summer and I began to feel a cool breeze, because a front was moving in.  We work and work to cool our small cars and homes, but God can cool down the earth and sky.  We would never be able to do something like that.  God can do some truly amazing things.

I am often amazed by the advancements of human beings, and humanity has done some amazing things, but they are nothing compared to the mighty works of God.  Go home and be amazed by your air conditioning, flat-screen TV, laptop computer, smartphone, and other manmade inventions, but then walk outside and be truly amazed by what an all-powerful God can do.  Sometimes we just need to step back, look at the big picture, and be amazed!

“He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see what he has done and be amazed. They will put their trust in the LORD.” Psalm 40:3

One Response to “I’m Amazed”

  1. One thing I like to do is sit on our patio in the morning, let the dog play an do his business, check my email on my iPad, and listen to the concert of birds. Another is to sit on the patio in the evening before sunset, let the dog play and whatever, and listen to the concert of cicadas. It’s wonderful to be enjoying God’s creation, even if you’re “multi-tasking.”


Leave a Reply

