Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Jimmy Cliff

Currently I am listening to the new Jimmy Cliff album, Rebirth. Cliff is a reggae legend and he does not disappoint on this new album. Although Cliff is known all over the world, has been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, and has several hits to his name he has been rather quiet over the last several years. Most of his success came in the 1970’s when he starred in the film The Harder They Come. This album is literally a rebirth for Cliff. On the song “One More” he sings, “I got one more song I must sing…I got one more story I must tell.” He does just that. It feels as though Cliff has put everything into the making of this album and it has paid off. This album will probably stay in my rotation for quite some time.

When a person considers the music that is played on top 40 radio they may be overwhelmed by its superficiality. Much of what passes for entertainment, I refuse to call it art, is shallow and vain. It can often be discouraging, but then an artist like Jimmy Cliff comes along and you can tell he has something to say. Cliff is not just concerned about himself or his appearance. He is concerned about others, the world, and the least of society. All of this comes through on his album. On “World Upside Down” he calls us to look around at what is going on in our world.

They say the world is spinning around
I say the world is upside down
They say the world is spinning around
I say the world is upside down
Oh yeah, all right

Looking at the world today
I am implored to say
So much war and poverty
While few enjoy prosperity

They say the world is spinning around
I say the world is upside down
They say the world is spinning around
I say the world is upside down
Oh yeah, all right

Looking at the world I agree
Oh what fools we mortals be
Morality is in demise
Immorality is on the rise

They say the world is spinning around
I say the world is upside down
They say the world is spinning around
I say the world is upside down

Oh yeah, too much injustice
How can there be peace?
Religious hypocrisy
Political tyranity
You see it my …
What about the children now?

No Responses to “Jimmy Cliff”

Leave a Reply

