Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

God’s Listening Ear

“I love the Lord, because he has heard my voice and my supplications. Because he inclined his ear to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live. The snares of death encompassed me; the pangs of Sheol laid hold of me; I suffered distress and anguish. Then I called on the name of the Lord: ‘O Lord, I pray, save my life!'” (Psalm 116:1-4)

We often focus on God speaking to us or giving us a word, but just as important is the fact that God listens. The psalmist loves the Lord because the Lord has heard his voice. God has given the psalmist his ear. This is a personal statement, and implies a personal relationship. We may be tempted to think of God as being busy listening to the prayers of people all around the world, but the psalmist pictures God, not listening to many prayers, but only listening to his prayer.

How do we speak to God? Do we speak to him as if he is really listening, or do we simply recite some words we are comfortable with? The psalmist reveals his heart to God, because he knows God is on the edge of his seat listening intently to every word. If we were wise we would do the same.

No Responses to “God’s Listening Ear”

Leave a Reply

