Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

A Mother’s Day Reflection

mother-love

Do you ever wonder how you got to be where you are? Why are you here and not in prison for robbing a bank or dealing drugs? Why do you have a good job and a family and are not roaming from town to town? Why are you a Christian and not some heathen who lacks morals and respect for anything decent? How did you come to this place in life? The answer to all those questions is very likely the same. It is because of our mothers that we became anything at all. It was our mothers who nurtured us and raised us. They taught us right from wrong. They set us on the right path and they helped to insure that we would make something out of our life.

Although Mother’s Day is a holiday that was not established in the U.S. until 1914, the idea of honoring mothers dates back to the Bible. In 2 Timothy 1:5 Paul writes, “I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that lived first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, lives in you.” At the beginning of this letter to Timothy, a letter that would be reserved for all time, Paul honors Timothy’s mother and grandmother who passed their faith on to Timothy. Timothy was one of the early leaders in the church. He did much good, but all that began with two women, his mother and grandmother.

As I think back to my childhood I can still remember the Christian songs and Bible stories that my mother and grandmother taught me. Before I could read the Bible, even before I knew what the Bible was, I was introduced to the Christian faith by my mother and grandmother. They set me on the right path. They taught me what was really important in life. They are the reason I am what I am today. I do not think I am unique. I am sure there are many people who have had similar experiences. It is for these reasons it is good to honor our mothers, but let us not just remember them on Mother’s Day. Let us continue to remember and honor them, and live up to the faith they first instilled in us when we were but a child.

“Pay close attention, friend, to what your father tells you; never forget what you learned at your mother’s knee. Wear their counsel like flowers in your hair, like rings on your fingers.” Proverbs 1:8-9

No Responses to “A Mother’s Day Reflection”

Leave a Reply

