Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

Seeing Jesus

jesus-christ-new-millennium

From a very early age my wife and I have sought to teach our four year old son about worship. We have taught him to put his hands together when we pray, open the songbook when we sing, and give money when the collection plate is passed. Each week we give our son a dollar or a quarter and we tell him it is time to give his money to Jesus. He takes the money and he begins to look around. As those who are serving start to approach he will sometimes say “I’m going to give my money to Jesus. That is Jesus.” As he says he points to one of the servers who are helping with the offering. He does not always point to the same person. He points to people who are young and old, black and white. He sees Jesus in the people of our congregation.

Jesus was a friend to children in a culture that thought of them as nobodies. When little children were being brought to him and the disciples tried to prevent it Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven” (Matt. 19:14). Little children are pure and innocent. They see the world very differently than we do. They teach us to enjoy the simple things in life and to notice things we often ignore. They teach us truths that we have long forgotten. They help us to see the good and beautiful things in this world that God created for us.

Although my son does not know all there is to know about Jesus and humanity, he is teaching me a very valuable lesson each time he gives his money to Jesus. He is teaching me that we need to see Jesus in everyone we meet. This is a lesson that Jesus taught. In Matt. 25 Jesus teaches us that when we feed the hungry, welcome strangers, clothe the naked, take care of the sick, and visit prisoners we are doing this to him. He says in verse 40 “Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me.” He goes on to teach that the opposite is true as well. If we ignore the needs of others, then we ignore Jesus. The point is we are to see Jesus in everyone we meet. We are to see Jesus in the homeless man we meet on the street. We are to see him in the single mother who is scraping to get by. We are to see him in the elderly person at the nursing home who just needs a friend. We are to see Jesus in the foreigner who feels lost in a strange culture. We are to see Jesus in everyone.

I am thankful for little children who often remind me of some of the most important lessons in Scripture. I am thankful for lessons from four year olds. If you pay attention you just might see Jesus.

3 Responses to “Seeing Jesus”

  1. Oh to be a child……beautiful lesson.

  2. Praise God for our little ones. I had the honor of baptising my 8 year old this year. I will look over and his hands will be folded together, eyes closed then I will hear an amen. He will pray and worship anywhere. He said it perfectly one day when I told him I’m not sure if we can do that son. His instant response was “If God wants us to he will make a way. It helps to remember our walk with Christ to look at it like a child.


Leave a Reply

