Resurrected Living
"What are you going to do with your new resurrected life? This is the heroic question." Richard Rohr

A Back to School Prayer

school

Father of heaven and earth and all creation, I praise your holy and glorious name. I thank you for the privilege of learning. You have filled this world with things too wonderful to comprehend. You are the source of all goodness, beauty, and truth. I am amazed by the little I have come to know and understand. The design of your creation, the beauty of language and words, and the intricacies of the human body take my breath away. I give you glory for being the author of all that I have come to learn.

God above, I thank you for teachers, educators, school nurses, secretaries, principals, and the many others who have dedicated their lives to teaching others. I know that this is not an easy job, and the people who have chosen this profession are not paid what they should be paid. Thankfully, the teachers I know understand that their reward is not in a paycheck or any benefits they might receive. The teachers I know understand their position as a calling rather than a job. They understand the importance of making a difference in the lives of young people. I thank you for these special people.

Lord, you know how precious children are. You understand what it is like to send your child off to a place where they may encounter trouble or pain. I pray for our children. I pray that you keep them safe. I pray that they will make good decisions and be a light to others in their school. I take comfort in knowing that you are with them, even when their parents are not.

Be with those parents who are anxious or nervous. Calm their nerves. Grant them peace. Help all parents to be an encouragement to teachers, and a good example to their children. Give them patience in troubling times. Provide them strength when they are tired from work and they must come home and help their children with schoolwork. More than anything else, I pray all parents will live like Jesus and show Jesus to their children through their actions, words and behavior. The ways of Jesus is the most important education anyone will ever receive. May we all be educated in these ways and come to know Jesus more. I pray all this in the name of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Amen.

No Responses to “A Back to School Prayer”

Leave a Reply

